Forum Search:
Forum.Brain-Cluster.com: Brain Cluster Technical Forum
Ultimate forum for Technical Discussions

Home » Microsoft » Windows Server » Windows Server General Help » Save but should not delete
Save but should not delete [message #163263] Wed, 27 May 2009 11:16 Go to next message
create_share  is currently offline create_share
Messages: 60
Registered: August 2009
Member
Hi!

One of my xp prof domain users has a shared folder on his pc which other
users need to access and work on the files in it. I need other users to work
on the files in this folder and save them but should not delete any folder or
file. I have checked every permission but if i don't give modify permission
to every user who needs to access this folder then nobody can save the file
with the original name after working on it and gets "Access Denied Contact
Administrator Message". This doesn't make any sense that users must have
modify permission to save a fil which also allows them to delete the files.

The files are Office 2003, 2007 Excel and Word files.

Is there a way to avoid deleting?

Thanks!
Re: Save but should not delete [message #163266 is a reply to message #163263] Wed, 27 May 2009 12:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
news  is currently offline news  Switzerland
Messages: 2294
Registered: July 2009
Senior Member
"create_share" <createshare@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5E1A9CD1-3BE1-4E69-9D55-2B7552D78BB8@microsoft.com...
> Hi!
>
> One of my xp prof domain users has a shared folder on his pc which other
> users need to access and work on the files in it. I need other users to
> work
> on the files in this folder and save them but should not delete any folder
> or
> file. I have checked every permission but if i don't give modify
> permission
> to every user who needs to access this folder then nobody can save the
> file
> with the original name after working on it and gets "Access Denied Contact
> Administrator Message". This doesn't make any sense that users must have
> modify permission to save a fil which also allows them to delete the
> files.
>
> The files are Office 2003, 2007 Excel and Word files.
>
> Is there a way to avoid deleting?
>
> Thanks!

If a user is allowed to modify a file then he can, in effect, delete it by
completely removing its contents, thus getting around the restriction you're
trying to implement.
Re: Save but should not delete [message #163293 is a reply to message #163266] Thu, 28 May 2009 07:00 Go to previous message
DaveMills  is currently offline DaveMills  United Kingdom
Messages: 335
Registered: July 2009
Senior Member
On Wed, 27 May 2009 18:29:31 +0200, "Pegasus [MVP]" <news@microsoft.com> wrote:

>
>"create_share" <createshare@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>news:5E1A9CD1-3BE1-4E69-9D55-2B7552D78BB8@microsoft.com...
>> Hi!
>>
>> One of my xp prof domain users has a shared folder on his pc which other
>> users need to access and work on the files in it. I need other users to
>> work
>> on the files in this folder and save them but should not delete any folder
>> or
>> file. I have checked every permission but if i don't give modify
>> permission
>> to every user who needs to access this folder then nobody can save the
>> file
>> with the original name after working on it and gets "Access Denied Contact
>> Administrator Message". This doesn't make any sense that users must have
>> modify permission to save a fil which also allows them to delete the
>> files.
>>
>> The files are Office 2003, 2007 Excel and Word files.
>>
>> Is there a way to avoid deleting?
>>
>> Thanks!
>
>If a user is allowed to modify a file then he can, in effect, delete it by
>completely removing its contents, thus getting around the restriction you're
>trying to implement.
>

If a user has Modify Permission (= Write + Delete) he can delete it. You are
describing how a user can delete the content using Write (i.e. no delete
permission)

With Office the applications update their files by: Reading it to memory; Users
makes changes; user click save; words writes new temp file; if successful word
deletes original and renames temp. Without Delete permission this fails. Notepad
works differently so does not need delete.

If word worked like notepad then during the save you run out of disk space (or
network fails etc.) you will loose the original as it would be partly
overwritten. So the current method is the only sensible one.

--
Dave Mills
There are 10 types of people, those that understand binary and those that don't.
Previous Topic:Re: IIS6 on Widows 2003 server is extremely slow behind FW/NAT
Next Topic:Re: PAE option in Win2k3
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Tue Aug 22 14:50:35 EDT 2017

Total time taken to generate the page: 0.04119 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::Sitemap::.

Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.0RC2.
Copyright ©2001-2009 FUDforum Bulletin Board Software